I know that having an ED is no fun. Especially it’s no fun during holidays. What is more being Lithuanian and having an ED is frustrating during this time of the year. Let me tell you a little about what I’ll be going through tonight. It’s Christmas Eve.

Preparations for Christmas start early in the morning on Christmas Eve: the house is thoroughly cleaned, all bed linen is changed and food is prepared for several days. Family members who are away make every effort to come home.

To commemorate baby Jesus in the manger, a handful of fine hay is spread evenly on top of the supper table before covering it with a white tablecloth. The table is then set with plates and decorated with small fir tree branches and candles. (The pictures are from the last year’s Christmas Eve)

Supper starts when the sun goes down and the first stars appears in the sky. The meal served on Christmas Eve does not include meat, milk products or eggs. Even so, the meal is memorable. It consists of twelve dishes. Typical dishes are all kind of fish,

 mushroom-filled dumplings,

herring,

 bread, and pancakes,

boiled or baked potatoes, cooked sauerkraut, mushrooms, dice-sized hard biscuits with poppy seed “milk”,

cranberry pudding, and whole wheat with honey. Food is washed down with homemade cider. The meal is eaten leisurely and solemnly. Everyone is expected to eat some of each dish served; it is considered unlucky to skip a dish. Leaving the table before everyone is finished eating is also considered unlucky.

Those customs are so old and kind of fun. I loved them as a child up until my disease seized all the joy of the holiday. Having twelve dishes is no fun for my stomach and for my brain. I am going to my mom’s toningh and hoping to handle it well.