Once.

Like 100 years ago, I went on a date with this not very bright guy.

Already being in the depths of my eating disorder I asked him whether he knew what Bulimia was?

“A flower?!” was his answer.

Yeah! A flower! A fucking Oleander!

Oleander is known as one of the most poisonous plants on Earth! It can affect the nervous, digestive and cardiovascular systems, all at the same time. Reactions to ingestion of this plant can include both gastrointestinal and cardiac effects. The gastrointestinal effects can consist of nausea and vomiting, excess salivation, abdominal pain, diarrhea that may or may not contain blood. Cardiac reactions consist of irregular heart rate, sometimes characterized by a racing heart at first that then slows to below normal further along in the reaction. The heart may also beat erratically with no sign of a specific rhythm. Extremities may become pale and cold due to poor or irregular circulation. Reactions to poisonings from this plant can also affect the central nervous system. These symptoms can include drowsiness, tremors or shaking of the muscles, seizures, collapse, and even coma that can lead to death.

What a flower!

It and bulimia have certainly a lot in common!

Lovely Jennie has asked me about the diseased caused by “my Oleander”. So there are my answers. And there certainly will be a long post. I hope not to bore you with it.

I see three main reasons I’d had it with my eating disorder. Me, my relationship and my health!

Right before my recovery I was a walking corpse. I felt pain everywhere! Walking, talking, sleeping was unbearable. It hurt! Everything hurt. Even my hair I believe. I had to get out of there. To stay alive.

As I’ve written so many times here I had been diagnosed with Celiac Disease at the age of 12. But doctors said it could be treatable with a right diet, lifestyle and medicine. I was getting better when the eating disorder came at the full force. I believe it had deepened the symptoms of celiac and last year I was told to probably have the disease forever.

Additionally “the flower” left me with the whole bucket of illnesses I have to deal with:

Digestive Difficulties – a deficiency in digestive enzymes that have led to my body’s inability to properly digest food and absorb nutrients.

P.S. It’s also known that Celiac Disease (gluten sensitivity), and Crohn’s Disease may be triggered by a history of an Eating Disorder. So watch out!

Hypothyroidism – a condition in which the body lacks sufficient thyroid hormone. Since the main purpose of thyroid hormone is to “run the body’s metabolism,” it is understandable that people with this condition will have symptoms associated with a slow metabolism. Key hypothyroidism symptoms include constipation, depression, and fatigue. Pale, dry skin; sensitivity to cold; joint pain; elevated cholesterol levels; brittle fingernails and hair; and unexplained weight gain are other common symptoms. I’m still taking meds on this. Doctor says it’s reversible, so I have hope.

Depression! Duh!

Dental Problems!

Insomnia! Lately I’m doing way better on the latter. I manage to get 5-7 hours per night and that’s huge comparing to completely sleepless weeks in the past (in recovery I mean)

Anemia and Low Blood Pressure which sometimes causes me heart arrhythmias and palpitations.

Lowered body temperature! Because I’ve lost and still not attained healthy insulating layer of fat.

Also I’ve had Kidney Infection. As you know kidneys suppose to “clean” the poisons from your body, regulate acid concentration and maintain water balance. And they just shut down at this! I twice was hospitalized while having an enormous pain in the kidney area. And I’m still taking medicine to function the organs properly. If not treatable thus can make permanent kidney damage and kidney failure more likely.

Osteopenia! Below normal bone mass indicating a calcium and/or vitamin D deficiency and leading to Osteoporosis.

Easily Bruising Skin caused by vitamin deficiencies that decrease the body’s ability to heal itself and easily bruised skin that can take a long time to heal.

Nice!

I can recall more things like bloating, losing hair, sensitive teeth! That’s why a lover of red wine usually chooses white one. My teeth get colored almost instantly. And sadly coffee does the same.

But I’m getting better! I heal! The causes of bulimia start to fade away.

I put on a cute dress.

I eat good and a lot. (A bowl of shrimp and a salad for last night’s dinner)

I’ve gained 10 pounds and I’m trying to deal with the idea of more of them to come.

Because I want to live and enjoy living, and not to fare that my heart will simply give up at one of my yoga classes. I want it to be strong! I want me to be strong! And live a long and happy life…

xo

So what health deficiencies the eating disorder has left on you?