Tags

, , , , ,

Dear Friend,

Before you go on another of your crazy diets and read, please…

I’ve done hundreds of them and they all were based on the unspoken fear that I was a madwoman, a food fanatic, a lunatic…The promise of a diet was not only that I will have a different body; it is that in having a different body, I will have a different life. If you hate yourself enough, you will love yourself. If you torture yourself enough, you will become a peaceful, relaxed human being*. Ugh…

Never happened.

Weight loss does not make people happy. Or peaceful.

Being thin does not address the emptiness that has no shape or weight or name.

Even a wildly successful diet is a colossal failure because inside the new body is the same sinking heart.

Please be smart.

I love you.

*Geneen Roth. Women, Food, and God.